First steps to losing 25 for 25

Cedric Porter, LEAF Trustee and supply chain expert

CedricWhen ideas for celebrating LEAF’s 25th anniversary, a year dedicated to Delivering Healthy Food and Farming – fit for the future were sought at a board meeting in a quiet moment I rashly said that I could be sponsored to lose 25 pounds with donations going to LEAF.

So the moment of truth has arrived. I’ve been to the doctors for a health update and weigh in. At six foot one and at 220lbs I have a BMI of 28.6 and am officially overweight. I should have a BMI of less than 25 and be between 10 stones and 13 stones 8 pounds so perhaps I should be a little more ambitious and lose even more than 25lbs, but let’s take things one step at a time.

I was not given any specific advice on what I should do to lose weight, but the main message appears to be: eat smaller portions, cut out most of the naughties and exercise more. I work from home which has plenty of advantages as well as dangers for anyone looking to lose weight. As Boris Johnson said: “We all know that working from home is basically sitting wondering whether to go down to the fridge to hack off that bit of cheese before checking your emails again.”

So losing weCP scales picture 16.04.21ight will take planning and discipline, not my strongest points. My basic plan is to eat porridge oats for breakfast, plenty of fruit and veg (as much of it LEAF Marque as possible, which hopefully shouldn’t be too difficult knowing that 33% of UK fruit and veg is LEAF Marque accredited) plus some protein at lunch and then a relatively ‘normal’ meal in the evening and certainly cut down on the booze – hide those large wineglasses!

I live in a town (Tunbridge Wells) which is pretty green and pleasant so there should be no excuse not to get out and walk or even run especially now the evenings are light. Technology is helping in the form of a phone app counting my steps and calories burnt. As I edge beyond 8,000 steps I can be seen walking the streets late at night trying to reach the magic 10,000 mark.

Losing more than 10% of my bodyweight is not going to be easy, but it is not going to be impossible. If you have any words of advice or encouragement please let me have them as they will be gratefully received. I must go as the fridge is calling, but rest assured I have the willpower to let its cries go unheeded.

If you would like to support my efforts then please feel free to donate via the LEAF JustGiving page #25FOR25 www.leafuk.org @LEAF_Farming

One response to “First steps to losing 25 for 25

  1. After once losing over 40 lbs using the method you describe I put it all back on, so my advice is simple – don’t follow my advice! 😉

    PS – good luck!

Leave a Reply

